UMSWENKO: DREADLOCKS

LOCKING IT DOWN: This week umswenko is about people commitment to their dreadlocks.

IMG_5649 (2)
Ntokozo Vilakazi 1st year BA International Relations and Politics STYLE: Long, skinny locks “I have had my locks for four years now. I grew my dreads because they are easy to manage and I can do them myself (wash and style), which saves money.” Photo: Nokuthula Zwane
IMG_5695 (2)
Lerato Kubeka 1st year Bachelors of Accounting Science STYLE: Short, coloured dreads “I got tired of constantly relaxing my hair so I began locking my relaxed hair. It took a while before my hair became natural and actually locked. My patience comes from my aunt who has had her dreads for over 10 years. She encouraged me to commit.” Photo: Nokuthula Zwane
IMG_5738 (2)
Thabo Mthabela 2nd year BA International Relations and Politics STYLE: Start-up dreads “I have been in love with this type of hair style or ‘start-up dread’ from the age of 14.” Photo: Nokuthula Zwane
IMG_5776
Asanda Dladla International Hotel School: Chef STYLE: Medium length dreads “My mom and my little brothers thought they would suit me so all four of us have dreads. That led to me loving my dreads. Photo: Nokuthula Zwane
IMG_5803 (2)
Alfa Kat Laygo Artist: Rapper STYLE: Mohawk dreads “My dreads enhance my performances (rock star vibe) on stage. I believe that every piece of art needs a frame.” Photo: Nokuthula Zwane
IMG_5632
Sithembiso Mdlolose 3rd BA Sociology and Philosophy STYLE: Bongo dreads “It is a beautiful expression of my blackness and my politics.” Photo: Nokuthula Zwane

THIS FACEBOOK ALBUM WAS ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED ON THE Wits Vuvuzela Facebook page.

